Common Core Standards

Common Core Standards

The New York State Board of Regents adopted a new set of curriculum standards called the Common Core State Standards. These standards were adopted as part of a national movement to raise performance expectations for students.

The overarching goal of the Common Core standards is to better prepare students for the demands of college and careers in our global economy. The Common Core State Standards focus on two key areas: English language arts and mathematics. The English language arts standards for reading, writing, speaking and listening, and language are also translated to literacy standards in history and social studies, science, and technical subjects. The expectation is that students will develop literacy skills specific to these subject areas in addition to what they learn in their English language arts classes.

These Standards provide a consistent and clear understanding of what students are expected to learn, so teachers and parents know how to support learning goals in order for each child to meet and exceed their learning potential. The standards are designed to be robust and relevant to the real world, reflecting the knowledge and skills that our students need for success in college and careers in order to compete successfully in the global economy.

Common Core State Standards for ELA & Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects

Common Core State Standards for Mathematics

BOE Letter on Common Core

New York State Learning Standards

Career Development and Occupational Studies (CDOS)

Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS)


Bilingual Education and World Languages (OBEWL)

Physical Education


Social Studies