OCR Students Share a Vision of Hope

OCR Students Share a Vision of Hope
Posted on 11/10/2020

Students in Melissa Butler’s art classes at Old Country Road School participated in a very special project this year. The Memory Project is a nonprofit organization dedicated to creating global kindness through art (www.memoryproject.org). American students, like those pictured here from OCR holding their artworks, exchange artworks with children from countries that are culturally very different from the USA. For this project, the artworks the students are holding will be sent to students in Pakistan. The intent of the exchange is to promote intercultural awareness, break down cultural and geographical barriers, and inspire creativity through the universal language of art. 

Ms. Butler’s students started the project during the 2019-2020 school year, but due to COVID-19, the project was not completed until this school year. All participants wrote their first name and age on the back of the artwork, attached a photo of themselves, and traced an outline of their hand. This process allows all participants to see the child with whom they are exchanging art, and to symbolically touch hands across the world.

“Our students took time out of their day to create meaningful heartfelt pieces of artwork that depicted different messages such as peace, friendship, kindness, and things that make them happy,” explained Ms. Butler. “Thank you to OCR Principal Laura McConnell and the OCR PTA for sponsoring the project and allowing the students to exchange with 50 students in Pakistan. This has truly been a great experience!”

OCR Memory Project

Third through fifth graders at OCR display the artworks they created to send to children in Pakistan. Also pictured standing in the back row (left to right) Supervisor of Fine Arts Chad Wyman, PTA representative Nicole Fragapolous, art teacher Melissa Butler, and Principal Laura McConnell. 

Memory Project Students:
Axel Arias Martinez, Khushi Bhasin, Jesse Bonola, Gurnaaz Brar, Kaileb Caba, Joshua Caceras, Jane Charm, Heidi Diaz Caraamo, Chase Dykeman, Kevin Goldthwaite, Chloe Guida, Merharbaan Kaler, Dekker Lefkowitz, Priya Manbhat, Nicolin Mercado, Zohaib Naeem, Heily Perdomo, Sarah Perrucci, Layla Rana, Tyler Roman, Melanie Ruiz De Castilla Orozco, Ioannis Takas, Derek Taveras, and Anthony Teofilo-Hernandez.

4th/ 5th
Karla Amador, Ariel Ashby, William Cataldo, Rosa Fernandez, Charlotte Hein, Cristian Lehmann- Ayisi, Jesslyn Martinez Maldonado, Angie Moran, Isis Ramos, Alexandra Rossa, Mia Wulff, and Shirley Zelada.